# MAKHADO LOCAL MUNICIPALITY OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR CORPORATE SERVICES

MINUTES OF THE ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY EIGHTH (128th) URGENT SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OF MAKHADO MUNICIPALITY WHICH WAS HELD ON MONDAY, 8 JANUARY 2018 IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, CIVIC CENTRE, KROGH STREET, MAKHADO AT 16:00.

# **PRESENT**

Councillors

BABADU, T M MOKGOADI, M R BALIBALI, T MUKHARI, MF BALOYI, RS MULEFU, ME CHILILO, N F MUNYAI, N FURUMELA, M G (until 16:17) MUNYAI, N S MUSANDIWA, PN GABARA, M J JONES, N B (until 16:17) NDOU, MD

KUTAMA, T NDOU, MN

LUDUVHUNGU, V S NEMUDZIVHADI, N C LUKHELI, J (until 16:17) NETHULWE, MF NYELISANI, S S MACHETE, M S RAMAVHOYA, K S MADUWA, E RAMUSHAVHA, G M MADUWA, LG

MADZHIGA, F N RAPHALALANI, A A (until 16:17)

MAFHALA, NA RASHAMUSE, A G RATSHIKUNI. D MALANGE, T M MALULEKE, K M SESHOKI, S M MAMAROBELA, TP SIMANGWE, N J SINYOSI, S M MASHAMBA, MA MASUKA, S SITHI, E T MASUTHA, LG TAMBANI, T E MBOYI, MD TSHIAMBWA, LR

MOGALE, L B TSHIFURA, S S (until 16:17)

MOHLABA, TJ

#### **Officials**

N F TSHIVHENGWA (MUNICIPAL MANAGER)

N C KHARIDZHA (DIRECTOR CORPORATE SERVICES) (DIRECTOR TECHNICAL SERVICES) C W MOLOKOMME M D SINTHUMULE (DIRECTOR DEVELOPMENT PLANNING)

M P MAKHUBELA (CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER)

M J KANWENDO (DIRECTOR COMMUNITY SERVICES)

W S MATHONSI (SARGEANT OF ARMS)

M D MUNYAI (ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER: COMMITTEES)

# **Traditional Leaders**

KHOSI R H SINTHUMULE HOSI S T MUKHARI HOSI H S MUKHARI

\*\*\*\*

#### 1. **OPENING**

The Speaker, Cllr L B Mogale ruled that a moment of silence be observed for meditation and prayer, whereafter she declared the meeting officially opened and welcomed everyone present.

She expressed that all be reminded of the Municipality's Vision and Mission as follows: Vision "A Dynamic Hub for Socio – Economic Development by 2025"

Mission "To ensure effective utilization of economic resources to address socio- economic imperatives through mining, tourism and agriculture".

# 2. APPLICATION FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

#### RESOLVED -

THAT leave of absence be granted in terms of the provisions of Rule 21 of the Council's Rules of Orders, 2016 published under Provincial Gazette Notice no. 2736 dated 29 July 2016 in respect of the Special Council meeting held on 8 January 2018 to Cllrs S I Bulala, N D Davhana, A du Plooy, T E Dzivhani, S Madula, A Matumba, M J Mpashe, S Z Mthombeni, G T Mukwevho, T D Mukwevho, M C Nematandani, M G Phoshoko, M E Malima, N V Malivha, K Maphubu, T A Maraga, M L Masipa, M A Selapyana, T J Mamafha and Khosi P Netsianda.

#### **REMARK:**

- 2.1 Cllrs F B Hlongwane, N Kutama, M R Magada, R T Maingo, R Raliphada, T C Mamafha, L M Mathalise, G Tshibvumo and M S Tshilambyana were not present at the meeting.
- 2.2 Khosi T G Muila, Khosi V C Ramabulana, Khosi N T L Mashamba, Khosi P V Kutama, Khosi F Molema and Khosi M M Mphephu were not present at the meeting.

#### 3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

None

4. PROPOSALS OF CONDOLENCE OR CONGRATULATIONS BY THE SPEAKER

None

5. PROPOSALS OF CONDOLENCE OR CONGRATULATIONS BY PARTY SPOKESPERSON

None

- 6. MATTER CONSIDERED:
- 6.1 Report of the Executive Committee in terms of section 59 (1) of the Local Government: Municipal Systems Act, 2000 (Act 32 of 2000): January 2018
  - 449<sup>th</sup> Urgent Special Executive Committee Meeting: 8 January 2018
- Recommendation of the Section 79 Oversight Committees in terms of section 59 (1) of the Local Government: Municipal Systems Act, 2000 (Act 32 of 2000): January 2018
  - 28<sup>th</sup> Urgent Special Section 79 Oversight Committee: Corporate Services meeting: 8 January 2018

**REMARK:** At this point in the business of the meeting:

- 1. Cllr N F Chililo proposed, duly seconded by Cllr T P Mamorobela, a five (5) minutes adjournment for ANC party caucus. Cllr S S Tshifura opposed the proposal for adjournment, however it was not seconded. The Speaker, Cllr L B Mogale ruled that the ANC request for a five (5) minute adjournment be granted. Councillors of the opposition parties, administrative component and the traditional leaders were requested to leave the Council Chamber for the duration of the adjournment at 16:15.
- 2. After the adjournment, the Council meeting resumed again at 16:22. However, the following Councillors did not return to the meeting: Cllr M G Furumela, Cllr N B Jones, Cllr J Lukheli, Cllr A A Raphalalani and Cllr S S Tshifura.
- 3. Council proceeded with the business of its meeting.

# **CONFIDENTIAL**

ITEM CA.1.08.01.18

**CONFIDENTIAL** 

\* \* \* \* \*

The meeting was closed and adjourned at 16:47.

Approved and confirmed in terms of the provisions of Clause 22.1 of the Rules of Orders, 2016 promulgated in Provincial Gazette Notice No. 2736 of 29 July 2016 under Local Authority Notice 125, by a resolution of the Council passed at the meeting held on 25 January 2018.

CHAIRPERSON MDM/lh/SpecialCouncilMinutes\_128